I'm a Future Teacher

Non-Halloween related stuff. Same rules: family oriented, no flaming, be nice. ;-)
MauEvig
Halloween Master
What is the highest number?: 10992

I'm a Future Teacher

Post by MauEvig » Wed Jan 21, 2015 1:43 am

I mentioned before that I was attending college to become a teacher, but there are a few concerns I have that I'd like to bring up. I was wondering if anyone had any advice they could give me with regards to those concerns?
For one thing, the biggest concern is finding a job. I don't exactly live in the most job rich part of Virginia, but I don't really want to move either. I don't mind commuting, and hopefully Staunton would be the furthest I'd commute. At least where I live most places are within driving distance. A drive to Lexington takes about an hour, depending on which direction I go, a drive to school is about 45 minutes. (My School also happens to be near the dreaded "Bunnyman Bridge. I might just have to check it out one day haha!)
There's also a lot of complaints about Common Core and a lot of the teaching standards with regard to "SOLs" or "Standards of Learning." Because I went to Highschool in New York state and have been out for a little over 10 years now, will I be able to relate to and show empathy to my students? I think I will. Maybe I can bring a fresh new perspective to the learning environment. I don't plan to teach Math anyway, though I do find that I was already using aspects of common core in my head to do Math since the old way was always something I struggled with. Finding "friendly" numbers makes things so much easier for me.