The Cemetery Off Eight Mile Road!

Halloween writing, poetry, fan pics and more!
Ghostwriter1983
Master Reaper
What is the highest number?: 10992

Post by Ghostwriter1983 » Tue Oct 09, 2012 8:53 pm

Tucked away amongst tall evergreen trees and lush green sword ferns, is an out of the way country cemetery. It has no name, just a small dirt parking area for about a dozen cars. I’m sure those resting here were born and raised in the area. This area is dotted with small farms, with people raising cattle, horses or crops. The dates on many headstones go back to the 1920’s. I would guess there aren’t more than 100 graves, scattered between oak trees here and there.

I had been coming to this place for about four months and when time permitted, I mowed the lawns. I kept the parking area trimmed, so it would show passerby’s that someone still cared. It would be nice to believe that those folks buried here also would feel they weren’t forgotten as well. There were three weathered wooden benches within the cemetery and I chose that day, to stop and to do some writing.

I have found this to be a wonderfully peaceful place to write and contemplate. Just an occasional car would pass by. I could hear it approaching long before I would look up and see them pass. On that particular morning, as I sat in my truck, finishing up a poem before I would start mowing the lawn, I looked up and saw a woman waiting by the gate. She was a strikingly beautiful woman in her 50’s, with radiant shoulder length red hair and deep green eyes.