The Secret Compartment!

Halloween writing, poetry, fan pics and more!
Ghostwriter1983
Master Reaper
What is the highest number?: 10992

The Secret Compartment!

Post by Ghostwriter1983 » Tue Oct 30, 2012 4:32 pm

The Secret Compartment!

I was a retired architect and Emily, well; I don’t think she ever retired. True, she retired from the company that made wedding dresses, but oh how she was active. It seemed the telephone was always ringing and it was for her. Some shop, confronted with an impossible bride whose dress was a mess. As for me, I was an avid golfer. Though I Walked slowly on the greens, I kept my edge or so I believed.

It was inescapable that stress had put two hearts to the test on so many occasions. But we never crossed that line of hitting each other or saying those unkind words that made love’s flame flicker and burn out. When we did disagree, there was always forgiveness and tears, cuddling and when we squeezed each other’s hand, love’s flame rekindled within our hearts. Emily and I were both 72 in 2005 when we took a month long vacation to Mesa, Arizona.

I remember how cold it was to our bones in Portland, Oregon that December. The warmer weather made that arthritis go away, at least temporarily. Incredibly, our birthdays were just 4 days apart. Mine was February 12th and hers was the 16th! Neither of us could lay claim to being a valentine baby, though I’d conceded and let her win. After all, with 31 years at my side through some of the roughest of times, she was truly my valentine.

Emily and I were traveling east down Highway 101, headed for Mesa, California in my 1965 mustang convertible. She was the happiest it seemed when she was holding my hand and her eyes sparkled at me. Her smile was as beautiful as the many cactus flowers we had stopped along the way to see. But this would not be the vacation we had hoped it would be.